Book Review – Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Book: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch – Authors: Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett

Genre: Fiction, Supernatural, Humorous

Description from Amazon:

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world’s only completelyaccurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.

And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

My Review:

As a longtime admirer of Neil Gaiman (and a newbie to Terry Pratchett), I was happy that I ended up really liking this one. The authors’ storytelling techniques meshed very well and the end result was a very humorous, yet thoughtful book. I really liked the way they went about the apocalypse. It was hilarious while still being horrifying. The Antichrist had an interesting take as well. No spoilers, promise, but the individual they used for the character was very well done and, though it normally would seem like an absurd individual to use, the way they are used is done so well that it all comes across as very believable.

Fans of the show Supernatural will be surprised to find a character named Crowley (though after I looked up the true reference, it totally made sense for him to be in the story) who’s attitude greatly resembles the tv persona. Instead of putting me off like it normally would, this coincidence actually made me enjoy the book even more. I love the character of Crowley in both instances, it seems.

My favorites, however, would have to be the Four Horsemen. I loved the re-imagining of these characters. Modern and eternal all at the same time.

My only con for this book was that it was long. Not really in physical length, but in time. There were several places where the story seemed to drag and I was pushing myself to keep going because “things will start to pull together soon”. I’m hoping that this isn’t reminiscent of all of Terry Pratchett’s work for me, since I had the same reaction afterwards to “The Color of Magic”; the story seemed to kind of hop around more than necessary and you weren’t always sure how things tied together.

All in all, though, I really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it.

Similar Books:

Hitchikker’s Guide to the Galaxy – by Douglas Adams

Leave a Reply

