The Gobinator

Well, I would be remiss if I didn’t introduce you to one of the most important characters in my life right now: my 1 year old Yorkie, Gobo.

Coming from a childhood of hamsters and parakeets, and moving into an adulthood filled with horrible allergies, I always thought that I would never get to have a substantial pet, like a cat or dog. And being more of a cat person, I’d never really even considered a dog until my sister got her Zoe. She’s a wonderful pup and it made me realize just how great a dog can be. Also, to be honest, living alone was really starting to take it’s toll; I wanted a little friend.

So last spring, when my Mom’s friend’s niece (isn’t that always the connection, lol) announced that her Yorkies had just had babies, I got interested. I did a bit of research and found out that Yorkies are considered one of the most hypo-allergenic dogs; their coat is more like human hair than regular fur and their spit has less of whatever it is that causes most people’s reactions. So I wrote the lady and made an appointment to meet the puppies on the understanding that if I had a bad allergy reaction to them, I wouldn’t be able to adopt one. And miracle of miracles, I didn’t get the slightest of sniffles, even after snuggling up with three of them at once!

Gobo, 1 Month Old
Gobo’s First Day at Home, 2 months old

One month later, I brought home my new baby boy whom I named Gobo, after the lead Fraggle in Fraggle Rock (cuz I am a dork, lol). Let me tell you, the transition from “parakeets and hamsters” to a literal puppy was VERY difficult. There is a true difference between “knowing” and “understanding” how much work a puppy will be and I was NOT on the latter end. Puppy training class was a godsend. It helped Gobo learn a few commands and helped me learn how to give the commands…and it was nice to have an “authority figure” backing up my decisions. Also, thankfully, he’s a good sleeper (he has always slept through the night) and he was housebroken in about a month (which I’ve been told is practically unthinkable for Yorkies). The biting, though…well, we’re still working on that one.

He’s also enormous for Yorkie. The lady warned me that he was one of the biggest in the litter and said he’d probably get about 8 or 9 pounds, which was the size of his daddy. But Gobo has topped out at a whopping 13.5 pounds! Yes, I realize that is still pretty small for a dog in general, but he’s like the Goliath of Yorkies! I’m actually happy he got a little bigger. I’m a decently large gal myself and learning to watch out for a bitty little thing on my seat or underfoot was tricky. Now that he’s a more durable size, I don’t have to worry about it as much. 😉

A Momma and Her Pup, Then and Now
A Momma and Her Pup, Then and Now

Though it took me a while to get used to him, he really is a good dog and he makes a good companion for the days when I just don’t want to be by myself. Looking back, that impulsive decision turned out to be one of the best I’ve ever made.

Leave a Reply

