Book Review – Hyperbole and a Half

Book: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened – Author: Allie Brosh

Genre: Humor

Description from Amazon:

From the Publisher: Every time Allie Brosh posts something new on her hugely popular blog Hyperbole and a Half the internet rejoices. This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features more than fifty percent new content, with ten never-before-seen essays and one wholly revised and expanded piece as well as classics from the website like, “The God of Cake,” “Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving,” and her astonishing, “Adventures in Depression,” and “Depression Part Two,” which have been hailed as some of the most insightful meditations on the disease ever written. Brosh’s debut marks the launch of a major new American humorist who will surely make even the biggest scrooge or snob laugh. We dare you not to.

My Review:

I stumbled upon the blog Hyperbole and a Half several years ago and fell in love with it. Allie Brosh seems to be able to bring humor to anything. I mean, how many people can make you laugh about depression (and not make you feel despicable for doing so)? Her comics have a unique insight and an accessibility to them that can be hard to find now a days. They are easy to read/follow and allow you to see the funny side to situations you may be dealing with yourself, which, on really bad days, may be the very thing you need to keep going.

Also, her drawings make me laugh just by themselves. They look like anyone could draw them and I think that is part of what endears me to them – they look like something I might have drawn myself if I were at all witty. 😉 This not only adds to the hilarity of the comic, it also draws the reader more into the story. We’re not reading the tales of some random genius author, we are reading the tales of someone who is just like us, the friend we’ve never met.

I especially love her dog comics. As you know if you’ve read my blog, I have a Yorkie named Gobo. Overall, he is awesome, but Brosh’s dog comics hit the nail right on the head: a dog is a creature that you love in spite of its flaws. There’s a point where you just have to laugh at their antics or risk having an aneurysm. I love my dog, but there are times when I was on the verge of tears reading this book because I was laughing so hard, nodding knowingly because I’ve had to deal with the exact same doggy craziness.

And, omg, the goose story!!!

I could write about this book all day, but I don’t want to give away all the funny bits. I will just say, I would highly recommend this book to any one who already reads Hyperbole and a Half or anyone who just wants a funny, easy read.

Similar Book (though not a comic):

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened – Jenny Lawson

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Hyperbole and a Half”

Leave a Reply

