Top 5 Wednesday – Non-Book Faves

So I’m going to cheat a bit with this Top 5 Wednesday. Since I just found this group LAST week and I can’t really think of anything for THIS week’s topic, I’m going to do the PREVIOUS week’s topic…did that even slightly make sense? 😉  I’m in a bit of a reading slump at the moment, so this topic will be a bit easier for me today.

February 1st’s Topic: Current Favorites That Aren’t Books!

Sophie’s Universe – 

In 2015, I decided that I wanted to learn how to crochet. I figured I’d probably play around with it for a bit and then give up, like I normally do with impulse projects. Strangely, I discovered that I really enjoyed crochet and was actually pretty decent at it. So now I have a gigantic yarn stash and tons of patterns saved for future endeavors.

jg-part-1
Sophie’s Universe – Part 1

My CURRENT endeavor is Sophie’s Universe, a huge mandala type blanket. I got super-obsessed with this pattern a couple of weeks ago, to the point of making an excel sheet with each row/color so I could predict what it might look like when finished. 😉 I’m only a few rows into it at the moment, but it’s looking pretty neat so far. It’s going to be the most difficult and colorful thing I’ve made to date!

Podcasts – 

In the last year or so, since my discovery of Welcome to Night Vale, I have fallen in love with podcasts. Some of my favorites include: Dear Hank and John, WTNV (obviously), Lore, The Thrilling Adventure Hour, and Myths & Legends. They are lots of fun to listen to, and especially great for while I am crocheting. 😉

Gobo – 

I can’t forget my pup! I am always pretty obsessed with the Gobester. Gobo is a 3 year old, enormous Yorkshire Terrier. Laugh all you want at that statement; really, he’s 16 pounds! He’s like the Godzilla of Yorkies! Goober is quite a handful, but also pretty adorable (most of the time) and I love him to pieces. 🙂

11164715_10103140581536479_3687558435217087255_n
Gobo says “Love me!”

Tea – 

Mmmm….the perfect drink for a chilly night, of which there have been quite a few in the last couple of months! I’m mainly a straight, black tea kind of gal. No fruity flavors or flowery scents for me! Just plain, strong, black tea. 🙂

Mystery Shows – 

I’ve been on a big mystery show kick for the last several months. I’ve binged and re-binged everything I can find on Netflix: Agatha Christie’s Poirot, Midsomer Murders, Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, Sherlock, Rosemary & Thyme, The Glades, The Finder, Death in Paradise, Murdoch Mysteries…the list goes on and on. It’s amazing how many different types of mysteries these writers can come up with! You get the odd similarity every once in a while, but there really is no end to the scenarios they can create. It’s wonderful! 🙂

______

Well, that’s it for this week’s…or, well, two weeks ago’s week’s…topic. I hope you enjoyed learning a bit about me. If I can get myself off this reading slump, I’ll try to get a couple new reviews up soon!

 

Leave a Reply

