Book (aka Life) Burnout

Alas, the wall has been hit. I have finally caved into my first big book burnout of the year. I’ve started 6 books in the last week and can’t bring myself to really care about any of them. 😦

In this case, though, it may actually be a case of Life Burnout, since I can’t bring myself to crochet or enjoy my favorite shows either. Playing on Facebook is boring. Going to work is an even bigger chore than normal. All I want seem to want to do is cuddle with my dog and sulk. Sigh. I hate it when I get like this.

Suggestions? What do you do to motivate yourself when you have hit the dreaded ennui?

_________________________________

While you ponder your reply, here is a short list of the books I am trying to entice myself into reading. Let me know if you have read any yourself and think they are worth pushing through the fog for. 🙂

  1. Mistborn (Brandon Sanderson)
  2. An Uninvited Guest (EJ Copperman)
  3. Kington Raine and the Grim Reaper (Jackson Lear)
  4. Devil in the White City (Erik Larson)
  5. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Alan Bradley)
  6. Les Miserables (Victor Hugo) – This one is my year-long goal. 😉

I’ve actually gotten decently far into both Mistborn and Kingston Raine, so I’m hopeful about finishing them. Kingston is much more playful than Mistborn, though, so I’ll probably try to stick with that one for now, especially since my copy of Mistborn in over 600 pages long!

Any book suggestions to help my with my burnout? I’m trying to find something fun that will grab my attention quickly. My burnout brain tends to drop books if they haven’t grabbed me within 30 pages or so. :/ Any genre will do, though I’m really not fond of romances. Please help!

(Cover photo: Hyperbole and a Half)

Leave a Reply

