T5W – Book Betrayals

Hi-ho! This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is “Books You Felt Betrayed By”, perfect for the Ides of March! I’ll be honest, I had a very hard time with this topic, since I haven’t actually read that many books that made me angry enough to constitute ‘betrayal’, so the vast majority of this list is actually going to be more like ‘books I was severely disappointed with’. 😉

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (J.K. Rowling)

2Let’s start off with a book that gave me an actual ‘had to re-read that bit several times to believe it was happening and then almost threw the book across the room’ moment. You know the spot. JK! What did you do?!? He was my favorite side character, dog-gone-it! And poor Harry!!! This is probably the only book in this post that I could actually consider for a betrayal list. I was completely not expecting that moment and neither were most of the fans of the series. It was utterly horrifying and I felt almost numb for the entire rest of the book. 😦

Dorothy Must Die (Danielle Paige)

18053060Ok, so this one made the list pretty much just for the ending…BECAUSE THERE WASN’T ONE. Absolutely nowhere on the cover of my copy of the book or in the summary on the inside flaps did it say that this was the start of a series. Usually it makes me happy to find out that a book I’m reading is the start of a series. New series are awesome. But not this one. I’ll be honest, I just really wasn’t into this book. I only even GOT to the ending because I was slightly curious as to what would happen, but I didn’t like any of the characters (that were left at this point) and I was actually really glad that it was almost over. Until it wasn’t. ::shakes fist::

Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)

18490This book is supposed to be the birth of science fiction, one of my all time favorite genres. I remember in high school being disappointed because the AP kids got to read Frankenstein and I was stuck with The Crucible. I shouldn’t have wasted the emotion. Even given my issues with Victorian literature, this book was AWFUL. Dr. Frankenstein is one of the most selfish, self-absorbed, and idiotic characters I’ve ever had to read about. I found myself rooting for the Monster, just because I couldn’t stand listening to Franky whine anymore. Extremely disappointing and one of the books that makes me question who exactly comes up with the ‘Classics’ category, because this really shouldn’t be on there.

Rebecca (Daphne du Maurier)

239113I guess this one also falls into the ‘Classics’ category and I didn’t really like this one either. Again, mostly because of the ending, which didn’t really exist. It took me a month to read the first 200 pages of this book; it just dragged. The main character, who they never actually name, was completely insipid and I couldn’t bring myself to care about anything that was happening to her. But things started to turn around in the last 100 pages. The action really picked up, I was finally starting to like the main character, and was really curious how things would play out. And then it just stopped. Right in the middle of the everything. UGH!!! SO FRUSTRATING!!!

Hitchhiker’s Guide #4 & 5 (Douglas Adams)

You know those tv shows that have one too many seasons? The one’s where you can tell the writers’ are either out of ideas or they have given up on the plot because they know the show is ending? And how that let down kind of taints the entire series for you? The final two books of The Hitchhiker’s Trilogy feel a little like that. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the original trilogy (and I get a kick out of the fact that there are 5 books and everyone still calls it a trilogy, lol), but the last two books are almost completely nonsense. They are unnecessarily complicated, don’t have a linear plot (or even a logical one), and honestly just feel pointless. Such a huge let down after such an amazing series.

363933

__________________________________

Do you have any books that distressed you so much you couldn’t finish them? That made you mad enough to throw the book across the room? Or that you were just so disappointed in that they tainted how you viewed anything else by that author? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “T5W – Book Betrayals”

Leave a Reply

