T5W – Judging a Book by its Cover

Crud puppies! I completely forgot to do my T5W yesterday! That’s what happens when you stay home sick on a Monday; it throws your whole week off. ūüėČ

Today’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is Favorite SFF Cover Art!¬†Tough category, but here are a few that really drew me in.

Meddling Kids (Edgar Cantero)

32905343

This book is a kind of horror satire of the 1970’s Scooby Doo¬†and the cover does a great job of capturing the essence of those old cartoons.

Shutter (Courtney Alameda)

20757532

This cover is just creepy. It was what first drew me to the book when I was scrolling around Goodreads and it matches the storyline perfectly.

Leven Thumps and the Eyes of Want (Obert Skye)

1211904

Really the entire series has wonderful¬†covers, but this one is my favorite. It’s just gorgeous!

End Games (T. Michael Martin)

13228537

Another horror, I know, but you have to admit the cover is neat. It has a wonderfully creepy feel and I love how they turned the trees into zombies.

The A.I Gang series (Bruce Coville)

51D47QJZSJL._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_

Ok, yeah, I need to explain this one. No, the artwork isn’t the best. But, you have to admit,¬†90’s era kid’s book artists really knew how to draw in the reader. All¬†three covers show the main characters right in the midst of action, battling mortal danger. Exactly what you’re looking for when you want an adventure.
Let’s compare that to the 2014¬†version…
23827585
Seriously? Come on now. Which would YOU have picked up as a kid?


Show me yours! What are some of your favorite covers?!?