2018 Reading Challenges

Hi all! I hope you all had a happy holiday season!

I’m getting all prepped for the upcoming year and have decided on my new reading challenges! This year I’ll be combining two challenges in the hopes of whittling down some of my TBR shelves.

Challenge #1: Sweeping the Shelves

images

For the first challenge, I’ve decided to tweak Lia’s Down the Rabbit Hole challenge a bit and clean up my real world bookshelves instead of my Goodreads lists. So starting after New Years, I will instituting “Sweeping the Shelves”. This will be a weekly post that talks about a handful of books that I own but haven’t read. I will list them, with descriptions, and then decide if I want to keep them or donate them.

Challenge #2: 2018 PopSugar Reading Challenge

I’ve been doing the PopSugar Challenge since 2015 and this year will be no exception. I am planning on tweaking it a bit too, though. I’m going to try to read only books I already own or can get for free from the library or internet. This should help me clean up my shelves as well, as I plan to donate most of the books I read that were owned by me to either the library or the mission, depending on their condition. I’m also going to let myself branch out from the list a bit. This year I managed to read 76 books, but only about 40 of those matched up with the PopSugar list. I’m going to attempt to stick a little better to the list this year, but I won’t be heartbroken if I don’t finish it.

So those are my two reading challenges for this year. I think they should work fairly well together, with Sweeping the Shelves helping me to decide what to read for the PopSugar Challenge. And hopefully it’ll help me clear out the books I’m probably never going to read to make shelf space for some fun new books in 2019!


How about you guys? Did you do any reading challenges this year? Are you planning any for 2018?